Dhaka Dynamites crowned 2016 BPL Champions

Dhaka Dynamites won the fourth edition of Bangladesh Premier League by beating Rajshahi Kings by 56 runs.

The fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League 2016 kicked off on November 4, which featured seven teams. The tournament was played over a span of a month with the final being played on December 9th. The tournament served as an ideal platform for the budding talents to showcase their talent in the grand stage and rub shoulders with some big and established names in the game.

The league was started back in January 2012 four years ago, with some of the top-notch players participating in the league in past. International players like Chris Gayle, Dwayne Smith, Brad Hodge, and Ahmed Shehzad have been part of the tournament.

We witnessed some interesting and close matches in the Bangladesh Premier League 2016, and the final in Mirpur on Friday proved to be nothing less.

Dhaka Dynamites, under the captaincy of Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, beat Rajshahi Kings by 53 runs on Friday to be crowned 2016 Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) champions at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur.

Rajshahi won the toss and put Dynamites in to bat, who scored 159/9 in 20 overs. Opener Evin Lewis scored a 31-ball 45 with Kumar Sangakkara chipping in with a handy 36. Dwayne Bravo scored 13 before getting run out, while skipper Shakib Al Hasan down the order got a 7-ball 12.

Kumar Sangakkara at his best! (Media Courtesy — BCB)
Shakib Al Hasan Bowled! (Media Courtesy — BCB)

For Rajshahi, Farhad Reza returned with impressive figures of 3/28. Coming out for the run-chase, Rajshahi lost opener Nurul Hasan early for 5. But Mominul Haque (27) and Sabbir Rahman (26) steadied things by putting up a 47-run stand for the second wicket.

After the fall of Sabbir Rahman, things started to fall apart for the Kings. The required run rate started to climb. Darren Sammy being their last hope, showed a good start by hitting a 6 to Shakid Al Hassan but got out on the next bowl. It started raining wickets in Mirpur, and the Dynamites easily bagged the game.

Darren Sammy bowled out! (Media Courtesy — BCB)

Dhaka has won the 2012 and 2013 BPL titles when the franchise was still called the Dhaka Gladiators.

(Media Courtesy — BCB)

Live Scorecard: https://machaao.com/live/bplt20_2016_final

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.