SRH beat RCB by 35 runs

IPL 10 begins with a dazzling opening ceremony.

There were some felicitations, a bit of song and dance, few fireworks and loud cheers as the annual league kicked off in its customary glitzy fashion.

The Indian Premier League over the years has seen some brilliant and extravagant opening ceremonies. The 10th edition of the Indian Premier League got off to a glitzy start with a short but sizzling opening ceremony in Hyderabad.

The show started with Ravi Shastri calling out the names of Indian cricket legends Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman and Virender Sehwag. The legends were later felicitated by different BCCI officials.

Later on, RCB captain Virat Kohli and SRH skipper David Warner exchanged the Spirit of Cricket token.

Then the stage was left open for Amy Jackson to perform on various Bollywood numbers.

Amy Jackson set the stage on fire with her brilliant performance.

Then it was time for the opening match between Sunrisers and Bangalore. Shane Watson-led RCB have won the toss and will field first.

SRH, batting first, made the most of RCB’s ever-poor bowling effort and registered 207 runs. In reply, RCB never looked good in their chase and crumbled 35 runs short.

Chasing Sunrisers Hyderabad’s 207 for 4 wickets, Royal Challengers Bangalore lost by 35 runs in the opening T20 match of Indian Premier League 2017. Rashid Khan took two wickets on debut for defending champions SRH.

Yuvraj Singh heroics take defending champs to 35-run win. Yuvraj Singh scored 62 to take SRH to 207/4.

Yuvraj Singh declared Man of the Match for his 27-ball 62.

“I’ve been working a lot more on my batting. I’ve been working on the short ball and the slower ball and have been trying to hit in the V. I was lucky today, got dropped. But I’ve been playing the short ball well. As you get older, you’ve got to train harder,” Yuvraj said.

Over the next 46 days, the eight teams will vie for the top prize.

Get Live score on Messenger: